Stuff Events

Powered by:

Meditation in Timaru Weekly Classes

Meditation in Timaru Weekly Classes

When:

  • Wed 26 Jan ’22, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 2 Feb ’22, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 9 Feb ’22, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 16 Feb, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 23 Feb, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 2 Mar, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 9 Mar, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 16 Mar, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 23 Mar, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 30 Mar, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 6 Apr, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 13 Apr, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 20 Apr, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 27 Apr, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 4 May, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 11 May, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 18 May, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 25 May, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 1 Jun, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 8 Jun, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 15 Jun, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 22 Jun, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 29 Jun, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 6 Jul, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 13 Jul, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 20 Jul, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 27 Jul, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 3 Aug, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 10 Aug, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 17 Aug, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 24 Aug, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 31 Aug, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 7 Sep, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Womens Wellness Centre, 14 Butler St, Timaru

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Class Fee: $8.00
  • Door Sales Only

This event is a weekly drop-in class.

The teaching and guided meditations are recordings from Buddhist Nun, Kelsang Luma’s, weekly classes at Kalpa Bhadra Buddhist Centre in Christchurch.

Each class includes two guided meditations, teaching and advice on how to integrate the instructions into our daily life.

Each class is self-contained, join anytime. No previous experience required. Everybody welcome.

Class topics:

Breaking Bad Habits – begins week 4 April to 25 April 4 weeks

We all have habits that seem hard to break. Unfortunately, many of these habits also make us unhappy or even harm our health. Even though we try very hard, sometimes we feel helpless to change.

Through practicing Buddha’s teachings, we can gain confidence in our potential to change. We can replace our bad habits with beneficial ways of thinking that align with our deep wish to be happy. Then we will experience the joy of freedom.

Peace is Possible – begins week of 2 May to 16 May 3 weeks

In an increasingly hectic and uncertain world, our experience of happiness is fleeting and we find many reasons to be anxious or stressed. We may wonder, “is peace possible?” It definitely is, but first we need to establish it within our own mind.

Without inner peace, outer peace is impossible. We all wish for world peace, but world peace will never be achieved until we establish peace within our own minds.

‘How to Transform Your Life’ – Venerable Geshe Kelsang Gyatso Rinpoche

Clear Sky Mind – begins week of 23 May to 6 June 3 weeks

Clear away the inner clouds and connect to the clear sky-like space of our own mind. Then you can carry a profound inner stillness back into your daily life.

Understanding Karma – begins week of 13 June to 27 June 3 weeks

‘Why is this happening to me?’ Due to our misunderstanding of karma, we create problems and suffering for ourselves and destroy our own happiness. By purifying our mind and engaging in pure actions, we come to abide in a pure world.

Improving Relationships – begins week of 4 July to 25 July 4 weeks

Most of us feel there is room for improvement in our relationships with our partner, at work, or with our family and friends. On this course we will explore how Buddhist meditation has the power to profoundly improve and transform our relationships, both past and present.Learn how to let go of painful attitudes and replace them with love, respect for others, patience and kindness.

The Healing Power of Meditation – begins of 1 August to 15 August 3 weeks

Discover the power of ancient healing meditations to increase your positive energy, love, compassion, and wisdom, and in this way bring deep inner peace, happiness and meaning to your life. These meditations heal both your body and mind, increase your ability to accept challenges and transform your difficulties into spiritual growth.

What to expect at a class:
Each class includes two guided meditations, teaching and advice on how to integrate the instructions into our daily life. The classes run for 90 minutes. Each class is self-contained, join anytime.

No previous experience required. Everybody welcome.

There is no physical exercise involved and you can choose to sit either in a chair or on a cushion.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

Special offers

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Stuff Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: