Stuff Events

Powered by:

Aroha String Quartet: POSTPONED

Aroha String Quartet: POSTPONED

Sorry this event has been postponed


  • Sun 26 Sep, 2:30pm


Waikanae Memorial Hall, 7 Pehi Kupa St, Waikanae


All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Public: $40.00
  • WMS Members: $30.00
  • Students under 25: $5.00
  • Buy Tickets – 021 2517030

An integral part of the country’s musical scene since 2004, this versatile quartet is known for its passionate musicality, impressive technique and multicultural innovation. Haihong Liu and Zhongxian Jin, original members of the Quartet, were joined by Robert Ibell in 2009 and Konstanze Artmann in 2018. As well as the standard quartet repertoire, they enjoy adding traditional Chinese music, New Zealand music or music by lesser-known composers to their concerts. On this occasion they will play an arrangement for clarinet and string quartet of Argentinian composer Astor Piazzolla's 'Oblivion'.

Aroha frequently combines with other musicians to present works for larger ensembles and for this concert they welcome NZSO clarinettist Rachel Vernon to present two of the greatest
clarinet quintets ever written – by Mozart and Brahms. Mozart’s Quintet is a timeless musical masterpiece, and as the first composition ever written for this combination it has inspired many composers including Brahms. Brahms was in the twilight of his career when he composed his masterwork which contains some of the most exquisitely beautiful musical lines and colours of any chamber work ever composed.

Door sales will be available or tickets can be purchased from Waikanae New World, Moby Dickens Books in Paraparaumu Beach and from the society website.

Mozart: Clarinet Quintet
Astor Piazzolla: Oblivion
Brahms: Clarinet Quintet

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

Special offers

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Stuff Events, go to who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: