Although the then Auckland University College had offered academic music courses since 1888, it wasn't until 1956 that the College established a proper music school by introducing a qualification for performing musicians, the "Executant Diploma Course" – a first for New Zealand universities. At this time the Department of Music was "temporarily" housed in a corrugated iron building on the site now known as the Barracks Wall Green. Then in 1969 the department moved, again "temporarily", into Pembridge, at 31 Princes Street. The "permanent" School of Music building, which had been in discussion since the late 60s, was finally built in 1986 on a small site and a tight budget by Hill Manning Mitchell Architects. Described by the judges as an "inventive and joyful work of architecture that... continues to communicate a sense of delight", the building was awarded the Enduring Architecture Award 2013. Meanwhile the roll has grown from 5 students (with one professor) in 1956 to its current level of 352 students (with 32 full-time academic staff and around the same number of part-time artist teachers).