Stuff Events

Powered by:

The Actor's Toolbox (Ages 16+)

The Actor's Toolbox (Ages 16+)

When:

  • Mon 3 May ’21, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 10 May ’21, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 17 May ’21, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 24 May ’21, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 31 May ’21, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 14 Jun, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 21 Jun, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 28 Jun, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 26 Jul, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 2 Aug, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 9 Aug, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 16 Aug, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 23 Aug, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 30 Aug, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 6 Sep, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 13 Sep, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 20 Sep, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • Mon 27 Sep, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

TAPAC , 100 Motions Rd, Western Springs

Restrictions:

R16

Ticket Information:

  • The Actor's Toolbox (Adults 16+): $250.00
  • Buy Tickets – 098450295

Website:

TAPAC

This practical and engaging programme explores voice work, singing, movement, devising and theatre play. Led by screen and stage actor Acacia O’Connor, you’ll gain an essential toolbox of acting skills to prepare you for a career as an actor.

Term 1 explores vocal techniques including singing, accent and voice quality. You’ll learn how to act through singing, practise singing in ensemble and experiment with accents and cartoon voices, filming scene work and recording a cartoon-style voice reel.

Term 2 focuses on movement, exploring how our bodies can tell a story. You’ll explore mime, physical theatre, Laban and psychological gestures as you create skits using different movement frameworks.

Term 3 will involve devising a 5-10 minute solo piece that brings together the voice, movement and story-telling techniques learnt in terms 1 and 2.

Term 4 is all about play, through drama games, theatre sports and re-capping the voice, movement and devising techniques you’ve learnt. Students will have the opportunity to explore their particular interests this term.

You may enrol in a new term even if you have not attended any of the previous terms.

Tutor - Acacia O'Connor

Toi Whakaari graduate Acacia O'Connor is a versatile actor who has worked in film, television, theatre and voice. Theatre Scenes called her original show 'A Few Things I've Learnt About Dating and Death' the 'best show of 2018.' Acacia has appeared in Florian Habicht’s film ‘High Tide’ and the Gibson Group’s tele-feature ‘Mistress Mercy’. She has acted in the TV series ‘Paranormal Activity’ and Great Southern Television’s web series ‘The Basement.’ Acacia’s extensive theatre experience includes shows with Auckland Theatre Company and Te Rehia Theatre Company. In 2020 she completed the Matariki Artist Residency at Basement Theatre. Acacia is an active and inspired young actor constantly pushing her own boundaries. She has been teaching kids and teenagers for the past few years devising work, writing and honing her directing skills. She has been teaching the Actors Toolbox since the end of 2020 and loves bravery of the group. Her favourite thing about teaching is seeing people having fun and achieving things they previously thought they'd never be able to do.

Related Events

Special offers

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Stuff Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: