The two lime kilns of Staveley are fascinating examples of an important industry in the region prior to the turn of the century.
The kilns are constructed from limestone quarried in the area. The 'pot kiln', is believed to have been built prior to 1890. The second, the 'Langdon kiln' was built in 1898 by William Langdon. Coal, discovered nearby, was used to fire the kiln. The kiln was worked by the Springburn Lime and Coal company and operated until about 1911.
Signposted from Staveley on State Highway 72. To reach the kilns, informal walking access crosses farmland from a carpark at the end of Boyds Road, behind the township of Staveley. Follow the white markers to both kilns from the carpark.
Viewing during daylight hours.
The Langdon Kiln is used for rock climbing and abseiling.
Image: The 'pot kiln' near Staveley. Courtesy of DOC.