Stuff Events

Powered by:

Meditation in Timaru Weekly Classes

Meditation in Timaru Weekly Classes

When:

  • Thu 28 Jan ’21, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 4 Feb ’21, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 11 Feb ’21, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 18 Feb ’21, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 25 Feb ’21, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 4 Mar ’21, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 11 Mar, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 18 Mar, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 25 Mar, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 1 Apr, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 8 Apr, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 15 Apr, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 22 Apr, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 29 Apr, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 6 May, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 13 May, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 20 May, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 27 May, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 3 Jun, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 10 Jun, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 17 Jun, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 24 Jun, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 1 Jul, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 8 Jul, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 15 Jul, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 22 Jul, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 29 Jul, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 5 Aug, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 12 Aug, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 19 Aug, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 26 Aug, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 2 Sep, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 9 Sep, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 16 Sep, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 23 Sep, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 30 Sep, 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

MindfulMe, 56 Bank Street, Timaru

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

This event is a weekly drop-in class.

The teaching and guided meditations are recordings from Buddhist Nun, Kelsang Luma’s, weekly classes at Kalpa Bhadra Buddhist Centre in Christchurch.

Each class includes two guided meditations, teaching and advice on how to integrate the instructions into our daily life.

Each class is self-contained, join anytime. No previous experience required. Everybody welcome.

Class topics:

Understanding Karma – week of 31 May to week of 21 June 4 weeks

Due to our misunderstanding of karma, we create problems and suffering for ourselves and destroy our own happiness. By purifying our mind and engaging in pure actions, we come to abide in a pure world.

How to be Kind to Yourself – week of 28 June to week of 26 July 5 weeks

It’s very easy to be hard on our self – to focus on our faults and mistakes and be our worst critic! This course will help you learn how to be truly kind to yourself – to focus on your pure potential and your ability to help others. Being kind to yourself means learning how to develop positive and peaceful thoughts and intentions while guarding against the negativity in our mind. On this course we will be guided through practical meditations that will help us to become more compassionate and understanding towards ourselves and others.

The Buddhist Path to Inner Peace – week of 2 August to week of 23 August 4 weeks

In Sutra of the Four Noble Truths Buddha says, ‘You should know sufferings. You should abandon origins. You should practice the path. You should attain cessations.’

To lead living beings to everlasting peace and happiness Buddha taught the Four Noble Truths. These profound teachings explain how to correctly identify the causes of happiness and suffering and how to follow the path which leads to pure freedom and happiness.

What to expect at a class:
Each class includes two guided meditations, teaching and advice on how to integrate the instructions into our daily life. The classes run for 90 minutes. Each class is self-contained, join anytime.

No previous experience required. Everybody welcome.
There is no physical exercise involved and you can choose to sit either in a chair or on a cushion.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

Special offers

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Stuff Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: