Stuff Events

Powered by:

Te Wahipounamu

The lowland forests of South Westland have long been recognised as one of the last untouched areas of conifer–broadleaf forest. From the early 20th century most of the forested areas became state forest, and were protected as a future source of timber.

In 1990, 2.6 million hectares were designated as a world heritage area. It includes four national parks (Westland Tai Poutini, Aoraki/Mt Cook, Mt Aspiring and Fiordland), as well as the land beside and in between them.

- source: Te Ara

Special offers

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Stuff Events, go to who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: