Stuff Events

Powered by:

Riverlea Environment Society Inc - Restoration Project

Riverlea Environment Society Inc - Restoration Project

When:

  • Thu 18 Feb ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Sat 27 Feb ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 4 Mar ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 18 Mar ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Sat 27 Mar ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 1 Apr ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 15 Apr ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Sat 24 Apr ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 29 Apr ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 27 May ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Sat 29 May ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 10 Jun ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 24 Jun ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Sat 26 Jun ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 8 Jul ’21, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 22 Jul, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Sat 31 Jul, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 5 Aug, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 19 Aug, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 19 Aug, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Sat 28 Aug, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 2 Sep, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 16 Sep, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 14 Oct, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 28 Oct, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Sat 30 Oct, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 11 Nov, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 25 Nov, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Sat 27 Nov, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 9 Dec, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Hammond Park, Malcolm St, Hamilton

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Remnant Swamp Maire and Pukatea Forest Restoration Project.

PLEASE do not attend if you have 'Flu' like symptoms due to COVID-19. Please check www.covid-19.govt.nz for further information and current protocols.

Hammond Park is a regionally significant remnant of indigenous forest that occupies a terrace adjacent to the Waikato River in Hamilton City.

This floristically diverse riparian margin is home to a range of species such as the rare native long-tailed bat, swamp maire, tui, bellbird, glow worms and ruru (morepork) to name a few.

The bush area 'hangs' between the upper scarp and lower scarp, or cliff face, which falls to the river. The land form features surface and subsurface water flows in this area that has lead to the characteristic swamp or semi-swamp forest type.

A key feature of this site is a small population of swamp maire (Syzygium maire), which has become locally and regionally rare.

The Riverlea Environment Society Inc (RESI) are undertaking a forest and riverside restoration project based on a report by the Centre of Biodiversity and Ecology Research (CBER) 'A Restoration Plan for Hammond Bush' for Hamilton City Council.

The objectives of this group are to protect and enhance the environment as well as other amenity values of the area. The group engages with local government organisations on matters of planning and resource consents or processes that may impact the quality of life in this area.

For further information see the website.
Email: conservation@resi.org.nz
FB: Riverleaenvironentsociety

Related Events

Special offers

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Stuff Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: