Stuff Events

Powered by:

Dunedin Puaka Matariki Festival

Dunedin Puaka Matariki Festival

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Tue 21 Jun, 6:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 22 Jun, 12:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 23 Jun, 12:00am – 12:00pm
  • Fri 24 Jun, 12:00am – 12:00pm
  • Sat 25 Jun, 12:00am – 12:00pm
  • Sun 26 Jun, 12:00am – 12:00pm
  • Mon 27 Jun, 12:00am – 12:00pm
  • Tue 28 Jun, 12:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 29 Jun, 12:00am – 12:00pm
  • Thu 30 Jun, 12:00am – 12:00pm
  • Fri 1 Jul, 12:00am – 12:00pm
  • Sat 2 Jul, 12:00am – 12:00pm
  • Sun 3 Jul, 12:00am – 10:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Ōtepoti Dunedin city-wide, Ōtepoti, Otago

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

In Ōtepoti Dunedin we mark the return of the lone star Puaka and the star cluster Matariki, and celebrate the Māori New Year through a diverse, citywide programme of events that maintain the traditions of the wānaka season – a time of discussion, learning, remembering the dear departed, and making plans together – and whanaukataka, building community. Join in at shared feasts; fun library and museum programmes; mātauraka Māori workshops and lectures; toi Māori art, music and performance events, and much more!

This year's Dunedin Puaka Matariki Festival highlights include two huge events to mark the inaugural Matariki national public holiday on Friday 24 June – a dawn ceremony at Tūhura Otago Museum, and a three-evening light and water celebration of our environment at the Steamer Basin over the holiday weekend.

For full programme details, visit the Festival website matarikidunedin.co.nz.

Nau mai, tauti mai – everyone is welcome!

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

Special offers

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Stuff Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: