New Zealand's only fully furnished and restored castle.
Larnach Castle was built between 1873 and 1887 as the residence of William Larnach, a prominent entrepreneur and politician in colonial New Zealand. Much of the construction was carried out under the guidance of local architect R.A. Lawson, who was also responsible for many of the other fine buildings in Dunedin. The finished building contained 43 rooms plus a ballroom, and required a staff of 46 servants.
This superbly crafted building with magnificent architecture showcases a unique collection of New Zealand antiques, with a tragic and scandalous history. There are spectacular tower views and 35 acres of gardens and grounds to explore.
Larnach Lodge, four star Qualmarked Guest & Hosted accommodation located on the seaward side of the Castle with spectacular views of the Otago Harbour and Peninsula. Only 20 minutes from Dunedin, accommodation package includes complimentary admission to Larnach Castle, full breakfast in historic Stables, and the opportunity to dine in the Castle.