Pukekohe's Pioneer Cottage, opened in October 1965, now stands as a memorial to the pioneers of Pukekohe. The cottage was originally built by John Martyn near the Great South Road at Ramarama in 1859.
It is traditional in design with four rooms off a central passage: a kitchen with open fireplace, a sitting room and two bedrooms. Furnished in colonial style, the cottage has many items of the pioneering period on display.
Pukekohe Pioneer Cottage is open the 1st and 3rd Sunday of each month, from 11am to 3pm.