Jellicoe Park is the best known and oldest park in Onehunga, being over 100 years old. Originally known as Green Hill, it was renamed in 1921 to honour the Governor-General, Viscount Jellicoe.
Step back in time and discover what life was like in Onehunga 100 years ago. A Victorian style park with formal flower beds and century old trees, a fountain, memorial arches and historic buildings. The norfolk pines in particular are visible from some distance away. The parks grassed open spaces are extensively used for recreational activities, including children's play, picnics and ball games.
Also located adjacent to this park are replica examples of Fencible Cottages built in 1847 to house military settlers, called Fencibles, who defended the city's southern flank. The Onehunga Blockhouse, is one of 10 small forts built in 1860 to protect Onehunga residents from perceived attacks by Maori. Both houses are open to public on the first and third Sunday of each month from 1.30pm to 4pm.