St Heliers Dingle Dell is a quiet, restful area for a picnic or bush walk located in the heart of the eastern suburbs and in beautiful native bush surroundings.
In 1933 a selection of natives plantings were undertaken including pohutukawas, tree ferns, rimu, totara, nikaus, tanekaha and kohekohe, resulting in the current fine stand of kohekohe and tanekaha at the head of the valley. The dell contains an extensive track network through the trees, while maintaining an open grassed area off Dingle Road. Wander through this fabulous array of native trees and enjoy the song of the Dell's vibrant bird life.
Dingle Dell was once part of Major Thomas Bunbery's four farms that he purchased in 1842. About 1880, Dingle Dell was set aside as a reserve, and in February 1930 the title was transferred to council.