Stuff Events

Powered by:

Kings of the Gym

Kings of the Gym
Map showing Circa Theatre

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 18 Jan ’13, 8:00pm
  • Sat 19 Jan ’13, 8:00pm
  • Sun 20 Jan ’13, 4:00pm
  • Tue 22 Jan ’13, 6:30pm
  • Wed 23 Jan ’13, 6:30pm
  • Thu 24 Jan ’13, 8:00pm
  • Fri 25 Jan ’13, 8:00pm
  • Sat 26 Jan ’13, 8:00pm
  • Sun 27 Jan ’13, 4:00pm
  • Tue 29 Jan ’13, 6:30pm
  • Wed 30 Jan ’13, 6:30pm
  • Thu 31 Jan ’13, 8:00pm
  • Fri 1 Feb ’13, 8:00pm
  • Sat 2 Feb ’13, 8:00pm
  • Sun 3 Feb ’13, 4:00pm
  • Tue 5 Feb ’13, 6:30pm
  • Wed 6 Feb ’13, 6:30pm
  • Thu 7 Feb ’13, 8:00pm
  • Fri 8 Feb ’13, 8:00pm
  • Sat 9 Feb ’13, 8:00pm
  • Sun 10 Feb ’13, 4:00pm
  • Tue 12 Feb ’13, 6:30pm
  • Wed 13 Feb ’13, 6:30pm
  • Thu 14 Feb ’13, 8:00pm
  • Fri 15 Feb ’13, 8:00pm
  • Sat 16 Feb ’13, 8:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Circa Theatre, 1 Taranaki St, Wellington Show map

Restrictions:

All Ages

Tickets:

  • Adult: $46.00
  • Concessions: $38.00
  • Friends of Circa (until 3 February): $33.00
  • Groups 6+: $39.00
  • Groups 20+: $36.00
  • Under 25s: $25.00

Website:

Circa Theatre

World premiere

PC vs. PE!

From the team who brought you the smash hit The Motor Camp, playwright Dave Armstrong and director Danny Mulheron again combine talents to present a delightfully romantic and wickedly entertaining comedy set in a school gym.

Politically correct principal Viv cleaver is transforming low-decile Hautapu High School. The only thorn in her side is the Phys-Ed department. Unfit Laurie Connor spends his days in the gym watching TV and gambling with his talented yet unambitious sidekick Pat Kennedy. But then student-teacher Annie Tupua arrives. Could this star netballer and born-again Christian prove to be the game-changer that Viv needs? As sparks fly and different players joust for position, the only winner on the day will be the audience.

Kings of the Gym stars the brilliant Ginette McDonald (Rage, My Brilliant Divorce), Paul McLaughlin, (The Truth Game, Peninsula), Richard Dey (All My Sons) and Achusla-Tara Sutton (The Truth Game).

A comedy in two halves, Kings of the Gym looks at the really important things in life: competition, compassion, Creation… and PE teaching.