Stuff Events

Powered by:

Meditation & Buddhism Merivale Weekly Classes

Meditation & Buddhism Merivale Weekly Classes

When:

  • Tue 2 Jun ’20, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 9 Jun ’20, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 16 Jun ’20, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 23 Jun ’20, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 30 Jun ’20, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 7 Jul ’20, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 14 Jul ’20, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 21 Jul ’20, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 28 Jul ’20, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 4 Aug ’20, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 11 Aug ’20, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 18 Aug ’20, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 25 Aug, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 1 Sep, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 8 Sep, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 15 Sep, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 29 Sep, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 6 Oct, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 13 Oct, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 20 Oct, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 27 Oct, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 3 Nov, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 10 Nov, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 17 Nov, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 24 Nov, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 1 Dec, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 8 Dec, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Tue 15 Dec, 7:30pm – 9:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Kalpa Bhadra Buddhist Centre, 24 Rugby St, Christchurch

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

This event is a weekly drop-in class.

Each class includes two guided meditations, a teaching and advice on how to integrate the instructions into our daily life.
Each class is self-contained. Join in any week, booking is not required.

With Resident Teacher & Buddhist Nun Kelsang Luma. Everyone is welcome.

We do not have EFTPOS so can accept either cash or bank transfer.

Class topics:

Dealing with Life’s Difficulties 4 Weeks – week of 9 November to week of 30 November 4 weeks

When things don’t work out the way we want them to our usual reaction is to become upset or disappointed. But this just makes us feel worse and less able to deal with the situation. Through meditation we can learn to accept whatever happens with a calm and peaceful mind. Then we can learn to transform any situation, however difficult, into an opportunity for spiritual growth.

The Art of Forgiveness - Week of 7 December to week of 14 December 2 weeks

By dwelling on the harm others have done to us in the past, blaming others and holding onto resentment we cause ourselves a lot of pain. In these classes we will learn how to forgive both ourselves and others, let go of what is already past and develop harmonious relationships.

What to expect at a class:
These classes are based on Buddha’s teachings on the mind, but you do not need to be a Buddhist to attend or to benefit from them. Each class consists of two guided meditations and an explanatory talk. The classes run for 90 minutes. Anyone can practice meditation and everyone is welcome to attend. There is no physical exercise involved and you can choose to sit either in a chair or on a cushion.

These classes are suitable for all levels of experience. Everybody welcome

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

Special offers

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Stuff Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: