Stuff Events

Powered by:

Modern Girls In Bed

Modern Girls In Bed

When:

  • Fri 31 Aug, 8:00pm – 10:00pm
  • Sat 1 Sep, 8:00pm – 10:00pm
  • Sun 2 Sep, 4:00pm – 6:00pm
  • Tue 4 Sep, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 5 Sep, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 6 Sep, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
  • Fri 7 Sep, 8:00pm – 10:00pm
  • Sat 8 Sep, 8:00pm – 10:00pm
  • Sun 9 Sep, 4:00pm – 6:00pm
  • Tue 11 Sep, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 12 Sep, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 13 Sep, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
  • Fri 14 Sep, 8:00pm – 10:00pm
  • Sat 15 Sep, 8:00pm – 10:00pm
  • Sun 16 Sep, 4:00pm – 6:00pm
  • Tue 18 Sep, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
  • Wed 19 Sep, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
  • Thu 20 Sep, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
  • Fri 21 Sep, 8:00pm – 10:00pm
  • Sat 22 Sep, 8:00pm – 10:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Circa Theatre, 1 Taranaki St, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Preview - 31 August : $30.00
  • Adult: $52.00
  • Concession: $42.00
  • Friends: $38.00
  • Groups 6+: $45.00
  • Groups 20+: $42.00
  • Under 25s: $25.00
  • Buy Tickets – 04 801 7992

Website:

Circa Theatre

By: Cherie Jacobson and Alex Lodge
Director: Rachel Lenart
Company: full.stop.theatre

Runtime: 2 hours (incl. 15min interval)

What would you do if you found Kate Sheppard in your bed? Part of WTF! 2018

Modern Girls in Bed is an irreverent comedy about sisters, strength, and what happens when two young women come face-to-face with five trailblazing wāhine from Aotearoa’s history.

Shortlisted for the Adam NZ Play Award and led by acclaimed director Rachel Lenart (Constellations), this new work is a razor-sharp, poignant collision of historical heroines and present-day family politics.

When life gets too hard for best friends Ally and Petra they decide to go to bed, John and Yoko style—except not for ‘Peace’—forever.

But something strange is going on in the house, and taking a stand proves harder than they thought. Kate Sheppard won’t stop bossing them around, Katherine Mansfield keeps making demands, and Heni Pore is going into labour. As Ally and Petra’s bed gets more crowded and real life becomes too hard to avoid, will the women of their world come together or fall apart?

A play for anyone who knows that women are complex and courageous propagators of change, who can also watch a lot of Netflix.

“I was very good in bed, I thought. One week I read Little Women three times in bed.” - Mum

Early bird discounted tickets for the first week of the season on sale until 13 August!
Proudly sponsored by Vivien Hirschfeld.

By arrangement with Playmarket.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

Special offers

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Stuff Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: