EVENT GUIDE

Powered by:

Brave Hearts – The New Zealand Cardiac Story

Brave Hearts – The New Zealand Cardiac Story

When:

  • Mon 5 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Tue 6 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Wed 7 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Thu 8 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Fri 9 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Sat 10 Nov, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 11 Nov, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 12 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Tue 13 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Wed 14 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Thu 15 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Fri 16 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Sat 17 Nov, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 18 Nov, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 19 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Tue 20 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Wed 21 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Thu 22 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Fri 23 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Sat 24 Nov, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 25 Nov, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 26 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Tue 27 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Wed 28 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Thu 29 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Fri 30 Nov, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Sat 1 Dec, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 2 Dec, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 3 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Tue 4 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Wed 5 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Thu 6 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Fri 7 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Sat 8 Dec, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 9 Dec, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 10 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Tue 11 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Wed 12 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Thu 13 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Fri 14 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Sat 15 Dec, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 16 Dec, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 17 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Tue 18 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Wed 19 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Thu 20 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Fri 21 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Sat 22 Dec, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 23 Dec, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 24 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Tue 25 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Wed 26 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Thu 27 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Fri 28 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Sat 29 Dec, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 30 Dec, 12:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 31 Dec, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Rotorua Community House, 1115 Haupapa Street, Rotorua

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Rotorua Museum

Check out the new interactive exhibition profiling pioneering Kiwi heart clinicians and their brave patients opening on 5 November 2018 in Jean Batten Square.

Celebrating the New Zealand cardiac story, Brave Hearts is an exhibition developed by the Auckland Medical Museum Trust (AMMT) with support from Auckland University of Technology (AUT), which explains how the heart works, how heart disease is investigated and the largely untold story of New Zealand’s leading role in the evolution of heart surgery.

Children are free to enter the exhibition and the gold coin koha from adults will be donated to charity.

Displays with interactive models demonstrate normal heart function, what could go wrong and what can be done to diagnose and correct heart problems. The exhibition delves into the inspiring stories behind New Zealand’s first open-heart operation, the cooling of children’s hearts to allow life-saving surgery and the innovation which led to replacing damaged heart valves.

Visitors can also learn more about the recipients of ground-breaking heart care such as Helen Harris and former All Blacks doctor John Mayhew. Almost fifty-nine years ago ten-year-old New Zealander Helen Arnold (now Harris) became the first person in New Zealand to undergo heart-lung bypass surgery. This remarkable medical achievement was just one of a number of ground breaking procedures developed by the small team of heroic clinicians at Auckland’s Green Lane Hospital.

Brave Hearts – The New Zealand Cardiac Story is on display at Jean Batten Square (Te Aka Mauri, Haupapa Street, Rotorua) from 5 November 2018 until 5 March 2019.

The exhibition will be open to the public from 12pm to 5pm. The exhibition will be closed on public holidays.

Groups of more than 20 should pre-book by contacting - brett@marvelly.co.nz

This special exhibition has been brought to Rotorua by Rotary Rotorua West with the support of Rotorua Lakes Council, Four Winds Foundation and One Foundation.

Rotorua Museum are running a supporting education programme for New Zealand school children Year 7-10.

For more information on this programme visit: www.rotoruamuseum.co.nz/education/nz-schools/year-1-10-programmes/brave-heartseducation-programme-education-programme

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

Special offers

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Stuff Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: